Tuesday, 2 February: Day at a glance

Photo by Connor Cox.

Photo by Connor Cox.

7:30 a.m.

Registration opens (top of escalators on 2nd floor of The Commons Hotel)

Breakfast buffet (Meridian Foyer & Summit)

9:00 – 10:30 a.m.

Welcome & Opening Plenary

Welcome to #WCC16!

  • Anthony Desnick, co-Chair, Winter Cycling Congress 2016
  • Annie Van Cleve, co-Chair, Winter Cycling Congress 2016

The Winter Cycling Congress From Leeuwarden to Minneapolis-Saint Paul

  • Timo Perälä, CEO, Navico Ltd | President, Winter Cycling Federation
  • Angela van der Kloof, Sustainable Mobility Consultant, Mobycon | Board Member, Winter Cycling Federation

“Warming up to winter: embracing the opportunities of the season” (Meridian Ballroom)

Moderator: Amber Dallman, Bicycle & Pedestrian Coordinator, Minnesota Department of Transportation


  • Jennifer Blair, LAc, MaOM, Penny George Institute for Health & Healing – Abbott Northwestern
  • Patrick Coleman, AICP, Executive Director, Winter Cities Institute
  • Timo Perälä, CEO, Navico Ltd | President, Winter Cycling Federation
  • Anthony Taylor, Adventures Director, The Loppet Foundation | co-Founder, Major Taylor Bicycling Club of Minnesota | Vice President, The National Brotherhood of Cyclists

10:30 – 11:00 a.m.

Meet & Greet (Meridian Foyer & Summit)

11:00 – 12:30 p.m.

Breakout Period 1 (2nd floor meeting rooms)

12:30 – 1:30 p.m.

Lunch on your own

1:30 – 3:30 p.m.

Breakout Period 2 (2nd floor meeting rooms)

3:30 – 4:00 p.m.

Travel to Coffman Memorial Union Theater, 300 Washington Avenue SE, Minneapolis

4:00 – 5:30 p.m.


Moderator: Jill Chamberlain, Senior Health Improvement Project Manager, Center for Prevention at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Minnesota

Keynote Speakers:

  • Jason F. Hall, co-Founder Slow Roll Detroit, Detroit Bike City & The North American Bicycle Week
  • Mike Lydon, Principal, The Street Plans Collaborative | co-Author “Tactical Urbanism: Short-Term Actions for Long-Term Change”

5:30 – 6:00 p.m.

Drinks & appetizers (Theater Lobby)

6:00 – 7:00 p.m.

Pecha Kucha session (Theater)